sportshaiku

Rams Rerun (Return) (Rams Move, Part 1)

Leave a comment

Cash out of LA
How can they be lured away?
It happened again!

I remember when the Rams left LA. Can that happen? Can the team I follow move from California to Missouri?

The owner was chasing a stadium and money deal. Can this happen? Other teams could move; the Rams couldn’t move would they?

I was mad! How could Georgia do that to us? How COULD she give up LA for a promise of big money and a pretty new stadium? Dumb owner.

Should I give up on the Lambs? Do I drop the blue and yellow? Could I stop caring about the helmeted horns?

I was mad, but I couldn’t really stop. I still like Isaac Bruce. The team has potential. I’ve been following them for years.

I was slow to like the move. It was different. The rivalry with San Francisco wasn’t the same.  I went to Saint Louis and found a lovely city.

It was a new mix. Some wore Rams blue, but love Cardinal red. Friends and rivals. This was new.

Years passed. We celebrated together. Those long-time Rams fans felt mixed about their Rams hoisting the trophy in another city.  The unbelievable year. From grocery stores to Super Bowls. It was a dream. For those longing for the win in LA, a pseudo-nightmare.

Now another dream. Another nightmare.

The owner chases a stadium and money deal. Can this happen? Other teams move; the Rams wouldn’t move AGAIN would they?

I’m mad! How can Stan do that to us? How CAN you give up Saint Louis? How can you bail on those fans who supported you during very lean years? You ditch your home state for a promise of big money and a pretty new stadium? Dumb owner.

And the circle is made. The Missouri Rams fans of today know exactly how the LA Rams fans from my day felt when an owner was lured away by money and a new stadium.

 

Leave a Reply

